In the category of thinking back over 2012.

If you follow the mStoner blog, you saw our recent post about what we fell in love with during 2012.

For 2012, I suggested two treasures for the mStoner post. You can see these two favorites below, along with a few more things I thought were nifty in 2012.

The Brand Gap by Marty NeumeierThe Brand Gap
I fell head over heels for Marty Neumeier’s book, The Brand Gap. Within the first pages, Neumeier addresses the definition of this often misunderstood concept: brand. A brand is not a logo or an identity systems or a product. Instead, “A brand is a person’s gut feeling about a product, service, or organization.” Give yourself a gift this holiday season: read The Brand Gap. I did. Twice.

Just Imagine from The American University of Paris
Who doesn’t want to go to school in Paris? Still, you might not be able to take a campus tour before you decide. No worries. In “Just Imagine,” film student Luke Shepard takes the viewer through the AUP experience, also known as the city of Paris. The video, produced in collaboration with the Office of University Outreach and Advancement, features current student talent and promotes AUP. C’est magnifique.
AUP's Just Imagine Video

My Visits to College Campuses
I continued my love affair with college campuses in 2012. I’m up to a total of 77 and I used this Pinterest board to keep track of the campuses I’ve visited.
My College Campus Visits on Pinterest

Unique Ways to Connect with Donors
I love the arts. I love this photograph. I love the copy. (I love it so much this is the second time I’ve referenced this site in a blog post!) Rhode Island School of Design is on to something here. This is the more meaningful way to connect with alumni about the importance of private support. Brilliant.
RISD Annual Fund

This Gift for My Husband
I bought it for him just because he’s wonderful; but I love it too.
Nespresso

Thanks 2012. I’m glad I knew ya. Keep the faith everybody.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

Leave a Reply

