Musings about airline travel.

In the past 14 months, I’ve traveled 33 times by airplane. The number of flights I’ve been on soars to 85 if you include the layovers in that calculation, which only seems fair. I live in Williamsburg, Virginia—so I don’t fly direct very much.

I’m going to declare myself an above average observer and share my perceptions and musings about airline travel:

  • Most people over 50 have a Kindle or an iPad.
  • More people have iPhones than Droids. I rarely see a Blackberry.
  • Some people talk really loudly on these devices and they truly don’t care who they disturb.
  • If people strike up a conversation before take off, they talk incessantly until we deplane.
  • The friendliest flight attendants are on Southwest.
  • Most of the time, men offer to help you lift your very heavy carryon up to the overhead bin. (It never shifts during flight.)
  • United’s Economy Plus is more humane and there shouldn’t be an up charge to sit there.
  • It is never the fault of the airline so they never have to offer you a hotel vouchers. Nice they can save money that way.
  • Yes, I’m Premier Silver with United but I’ve never darkened the door of the United Club. It’s just not me.
  • Less than 50% of airports have free wifi.
  • The food options are improving and getting healthier. BWI: Silver Diner! ORD: Tortas Frontera!!
  • If you land in the Northeast, there’s always a DD.
  • It’s a great way to see the world. I am fortunate to visit so many interesting and new places.

Did I miss anything, fellow travelers? Please share.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

2 thoughts on “Musings about airline travel.”

  1. Can’t claim to travel that much, but when travelling alone I find:
    * If I sit by the window, the person next to me will overlap my arm rest.
    * If I sit in the middle, the individuals on both sides of me will overlap my arms rests.
    * Audio isolation headphone are the bomb 🙂

Leave a Reply

