Went West for the #UCDA #designsummit

Mission Inn in Riverside, CaliforniaEarlier this week, I went west for my first UCDA event. I had the pleasure of joining 80+ communications professionals at the Mission Inn in Riverside, California. The conference theme was renewal and rejuvenation. And it was.

I gave two presentations for the #designsummit program:

I had time on a plane when electronic devices had to be turned off and stowed so I scribbled these thoughts about the #designsummit while landing. Here goes:

    • There are many expert and committed people working in our colleges and universities and we need to make more room for their ideas and talents. I salute them.
    • People really want to do exceptional work. And that’s a good thing.
    • Change is a part of the equation and always will be. My favorite quote from the conference came from Jerry Takigawa’s keynote entitled Reality is Subject to Change. Jerry’s slide with this quote from Charles Darwin spoke to me, “It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change.”
    • Warning: these remaining thoughts will only make sense if you were there:
      #orange
      #cupcakes
      #beauty
      #commercialartist
      #integrate

Thanks a lot UCDA. I enjoyed myself immensely.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

3 thoughts on “Went West for the #UCDA #designsummit”

  1. Hey Susan! It’s Denise from Miami University. Thanks again for sharing your insights! The Summit left us inspired–and with a lot of questions we’re still debating (that’s a GOOD thing, of course). Donna and I will be following your blog, and I think you’ve even made me “see the light” with Twitter. Hope your daughter’s audition for grad school went well! Thanks, and best wishes! Denise

  2. Hi there! So glad we connected in Riverside. Where are you going next? We have to get together for dinner. You’re on Twitter!!! I love it – going to find you there now. We actually loved UNC Greensboro but what I really want is a visit to Miami U. Best, Susan

  3. So kind of you to reply, Susan! Still fumbling with Twitter, I’m afraid, but I’ve been sharing your ideas with anyone who will listen–and my Dean, being a forward-thinking woman, is VERY interested! Hope you do visit Miami U in Ohio one day soon! Best wishes, Denise

Leave a Reply

