Boards and Pins (for me and for higher ed)

During the holidays, I asked my sister to send me a Pinterest invite. Frankly, I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Back in the fall, I had decided that Pinterest probably wasn’t for me—it seemed like something I might not be able to keep up with.

After Christmas, the Pinterest invite came my way and I set up a few boards. While in-person chatting with @melissamckelvey a few weekends ago, I admitted that I hadn’t quite figured out what to do with Pinterest. Once Melissa made it clear that there is an organizational aspect to her own boards—I started to get some ideas. If I can use Pinterest for organizing and archiving, I can quickly get behind it for personal use.

I love my new board for tracking all of my visits to college campuses. (Note: more than 50 of these campus visits happened before I took a job at mStoner.) This board combines a personal and professional interest in colleges and universities. I realized I’ve had a lifelong love story with higher education: I went to college, supported my husband during grad school, moved with him to start his career as a professor, spent 22 years working at William & Mary, planned trips with my two children as they were applying to colleges, and travel to campuses around the country in my job with mStoner. It only made sense to start tracking these visits!

I’ve recently started boards for my favorite restaurants in cities I visit. I’m no Yelp or Urban Spoon, but I have some recommendations for great food in cities like Baltimore, Richmond, Washington, D.C., and New York City.

A couple of weeks ago, Ma’ayan Plaut wrote an informative and clear post. “How Pinteresting” is a super summary that makes the case for Pinterest. I’ll be watching Oberlin’s use of Pinterest in the coming months. As Ma’ayan points out, the Pinterest platform is a shift away from self-promotion. I, for one, am excited about the focus on content that ties to values, ideas, and collaboration. And, with individuals like @plautmaayan (Ma’ayan) at the helm on Pinterest boards, it’s sure to be interesting.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

1 thought on “Boards and Pins (for me and for higher ed)”

Leave a Reply

