Both Penn Stations times four. (Once personal, once not.)

The upcoming week will be a travel week for me. I leave Tuesday morning to drive to Penn Station in Baltimore. Starting early on Tuesday afternoon, it’ll go something like this:

Tuesday: Baltimore Penn Station >> New York Penn Station
Thursday: New York Penn Station >> Baltimore Penn Station
Friday: Baltimore Penn Station >> New York Penn Station
Monday: New York Penn Station >> Baltimore Penn Station

I’ll be in Manhattan for a campus visit with an mStoner client. But, the rinse/repeat itinerary is mostly personal. On Thursday, my daughter, who is a junior at Peabody Conservatory of Music (Baltimore) will perform in her first solo voice recital.  I’ve never accepted a position that didn’t allow me to put family first. And my new job at mStoner is no different. Thanks to two amazing colleagues (shout out to Michael Stoner and Doug Gapinski), I’ll slip away early from the client visit to make it back to Baltimore. I’m not denying it; I’m super proud of my daughter and can’t wait to join my parents, my husband and my son and his girlfriend for what we view as the vocal event of the season.

So why the second trip back to Manhattan? Also, music- and daughter-related. Rebecca has two auditions for summer opera music festivals and we’re celebrating her upcoming 21st birthday with tickets to Follies on Broadway. I didn’t expect to learn so much from my children. Among other things, my daughter taught me to love Bernadette Peters.

So bring on the train travel. I’m ready.

P.S. She even used social media to market the event. If you love and/or are interested in classical music and opera, join us!

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

Leave a Reply

