My husband gave me a purple cow for Christmas.

As a Christmas present, Larry gave me Seth Godin’s book, Purple Cow. I’ve followed Seth Godin’s blog for years so I’m looking forward to reading this book.

In a nutshell, I think the book is about creating spectacular brands. During my first glance at the summary on the (purple!) book jacket, I was reminded of Good to Great, a book about the characteristics of organizations that move from good to great. We’ll see if the parallels continue.

Frankly, books like this one always appeal to me. For me, principles of marketing, communications, leadership and organizational development are foundational. After all, particular technologies come and go. Don’t get me wrong, I rely on technology. I’m seldom without it. But I’m grounded by ideas like those I think I’ll find in Purple Cow.

What are you reading as we begin 2012?

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

2 thoughts on “My husband gave me a purple cow for Christmas.”

  1. It’s a classic! One of the best books on developing and marketing great products. “Be irresistible to a tiny group of sneezers with otaku” is the best business advice I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

