All hands went up. #surprised

This week, I was fortunate to be a speaker at the CASE Institute for Senior Communications and Marketing Professionals in San Diego. My topic was Social Media that Gets Results and something surprising happened at the beginning of my presentation.

During the intro part of my talk, I decided to get a sense of my audience. There were nearly 100 individuals at the Institute and I figured they would have a broad range of experience with social media. Not true. I asked this question, “How many of you use social media every day, either personally or as a communication platform for your institution?” All hands went up.

I figured I’d get them (the CASE Institute attendees) with my next question which was, “How many of you need to be convinced that social media is a useful platform for communication with your stakeholders?” Wow, no hands went up. Even just a year ago, I think that about 25% of the audience would have expressed some doubt that social media was an effective tool.

We’re there higher ed. I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised. I first used social media in 2006; five years have passed and it’s now part of the communication fabric on college campuses.

This commitment to social media from my audience made the presentation even more fun to do. Using the William & Mary Mascot Searchas a case study, we had a lively discussion about integrating social media platforms to achieve campaign results. You can download the presentation, the speaker notes, and other resources here.

This is conference season. Next up for me is HighEdWeb 2011 in Austin. I’ll be speaking about setting up a campus creative services unit. My presentation is Monday, October 24 at 8:30AM. Please join me, despite the early time slot.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

Leave a Reply

