Love the one you’re with.

I’m happy to be on the list of new bloggers for BlogHighEd. Started by Matt Herzberger and Brad J. Ward, BlogHighEd is a network of bloggers with a connection to higher education.

Writing is a hobby for me and I am actually glad about the additional pressure to blog consistently. Crafting a good post takes time and motivation is needed by all bloggers, right?

More importantly, I hope I will contribute to the collaborative spirit within higher ed. We take this for granted, I think. A few months ago, I consulted informally with an organization on the verge of a large-scale web redesign. As we met and talked about options, I shared my experience of calling on counterparts at other universities for samples and suggestions. The quizzical look I got was followed by surprise as the individual asked if I had actually contacted competitors for information.

Warning: glass half-full. One point for higher ed. Sometimes our hair turns grey while forging consensus. But I wouldn’t change a thing about how we help each other out.

BlogHighEd subscribers and readers, call on me. I’m here for you.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

One thought on “Love the one you’re with.”

Leave a Reply

