There are good ones and bad ones.

Habit is almost a dirty word in our culture. There are good ones but most of the attention is directed to the ones we’re trying to kick (or hide). Today, both kinds are on my mind.

Procrastination usually lands in the bad habit category. Most would be shocked to know that today I am a victim of my own procrastination. Those who talk behind my back about my bad habits generally refer to me as Type A and way too intense about getting stuff done.

Three weeks ago, the editor of EDUCAUSE Review contacted me about writing a short piece on mobile technology. Ever since I agreed, ideas have been bubbling and percolating in my head. But until 6:38AM today, fingers didn’t touch keyboards for the 700 – 1,000 words needed before 8:00AM tomorrow. Teddy, if you’re reading this, I swear, it’ll be good. Bad habit confessed, I didn’t start writing early.

Keeping a New Year’s resolution is a good kind of habit, don’t you think? On December 31, 2010, I rejuvenated my personal blog and made writing a regular activity. It’s just like anything, once you get in the habit, it’s easier. Because I’ve been blogging, the words needed for my contribution to ER are flowing. What a relief, my good writing habit helped mitigate my rare procrastination.

Things are going so well on this writing that I might even be done in time for the Red Carpet.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

Leave a Reply

