If you set people up to disappoint you, they often will.

#7 in my series of Lessons Learned blog posts
People don’t voluntarily provide the copy/text you need for their project; they have to be reminded that you need it.

Getting the content for a website was challenging too but somehow, I thought people would come in with full copy for a print project. Wrong.

Over the past year, I’ve found myself explaining the importance of having all content before creative work begins. We’re working on a concept here folks, not just putting some curly-qs around your text. Your content will help us choose the best photography, the appropriate style, the right graphical elements, and sometimes, God love you, the right color!

So, yes, we need to remind our clients about what we need to move forward. And, after all, I guess that’s okay. I decided many, many years ago that if I waited for people to give me what I needed to get something done, I’d never accomplish anything. Take the high road: gently nudge, remind, and even go to another source to get what you need to take the next step towards results.

The goal is to move our organizations forward, to do what we do. If I have to remind people about what I need to make that happen, so be it.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

2 thoughts on “If you set people up to disappoint you, they often will.”

Leave a Reply

