I had a new job in 2010 and I learned a lot.

Yes, it’s New Year’s Eve and no, I shouldn’t be writing a blog post on a night when many (most?) are partying in the new year. My excuse for spending part of December 31 with my blog is a good one: my husband has a terrible cold and cough so we canceled our party plans. Besides, the topic for this post has been marinating in my head all day and it is best written on the last day of 2010 as a reflection on the year that was.

In January 2010, I started a new job. And, like the pattern of the best jobs I’ve had along the way, it went something like this. First three months: I loved it. Second three months: I hated it and was pretty sure I’d made a mistake. Third three months: I let my stubbornness shine through; buckled down and took care of business. Last three months of the year: I adore my new job.

So let’s call this a drive by look at lessons learned in 2010. It’s New Year’s Eve after all; so I’m going to quickly summarize and then move on to the at home version of my New Year’s Eve celebration. I’ll use the first few weeks of 2011 to more closely examine the following lessons through subsequent posts.

2010: Lessons Learned

  1. Don’t be afraid of customer service calls, they make you better.
  2. Print is harder than web.
  3. Some of our best work didn’t take a lot of time or planning.
  4. Video is complicated – lighting is hard to get right and editing the footage means you have to watch it all (more than once).
  5. William & Mary students are an unusually talented bunch – I love it when I’m right.
  6. I don’t have to be right, I just have to get the right outcome.
  7. People don’t voluntarily provide the copy/text you need for their project; they have to be reminded that you need it.
  8. I hate it when as soon as possible or whenever you can fit it in are the answer to when do you need this?
  9. People don’t understand the power of social media but it’s our job to (patiently) help them see why.
  10. It doesn’t matter what color I like; furthermore, it doesn’t matter what I think of the design.
  11. William & Mary has even more logos than we initially realized; but most of them are “art.”
  12. More than 730 people on a campus can successfully use the same web content management system.
  13. Sometimes you have to say no and sometimes people will thank you for it.
  14. Don’t be afraid to say yes; it doesn’t always mean you’ll get more work.
  15. If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will get you there.

Adios 2010. I’m glad I knew you.

Author: susantevans

Susan T. Evans is director of corporate and foundations relations at the College of William & Mary. She is a proven strategic leader with deep expertise in advancement, communications, brand management, marketing, digital strategy, technology, administration and organizational development. She is known for creative and strategic approaches to challenges within higher education, nonprofits and business.

1 thought on “I had a new job in 2010 and I learned a lot.”

Leave a Reply

